Summer 2017 Bucket List

The summer of 2017 is the first summer since I started college where I will be at home. For the past two summers I have worked at Camp Arcadia, a little piece of heaven located in Northern Michigan. While I love camp with my whole heart I decided that this summer I should probably get an internship and make a little bit more money so I can afford my senior year of college. I have decided to take this opportunity to change my life. This is mostly because I only have two friends from high school and one will be in Israel all summer, so I will be bored out of my mind. Also I won’t have to pay for anything since I will be living at home.

Without further ado here is my summer 2017 bucket list:

  • Learn calligraphy
  • Work out every day
  • Don’t eat sugar for the month of June
  • Learn how to do makeup
  • Go on a road trip
  • Be a vegetarian for the whole summer
  • Get a summer hairdo
  • Stop washing my hair every day
  • Figure out a skincare routine
  • Wear my Fitbit every day
  • Make my bed every day
  • Keep my room clean

While these things are not very exciting I decided that this summer was going to be the one where I finally get in shape. For pretty much my entire life I have struggled with my weight and I know that if I just put a little bit of effort into working out and eating right I can finally get into shape. Now this summer I don’t really want to focus just on losing weight, I really want to figure out a routine that I can keep up with the rest of my life to live a healthier life. This is what I think my big problem has been in the past, I have been too focused on just losing weight. The reason why this is such a big problem is because you don’t see results after going to the gym once or twice, you have to build up to results. This has been hard for me in the past because I like to see immediate results.

Last year I did get into a fitness routine with my old roommate. We worked out every day, I only ate full meals, not snacks, and I saw some great results. The problem was it wasn’t sustainable. A main reason why it worked my sophomore year was because I was still on the school’s meal plan and I hated all of the food. This made it easier to not eat as much. We also lived a block away from the gym and we went together which made it easier. Then the school year ended, I went up to camp where there was no workout facility and I worked in the kitchen so I was constantly surrounded by food. To top it off at the very end of the summer I messed up my knee really badly so when I got back to school I couldn’t work out. Eventually I stopped working out all together and I gained all of the weight I lost back.

This is where I hope to change this summer. Since I have almost endless free time, outside of working at my internship, I have decided to change my whole routine. I want to live a healthier life, not just lose weight and go one eating carbs 24/7 hoping that the weight will stay off. I know that with a little time and energy that I can eventually get in shape, and hey if I lose weight I am not complaining.

Leave a Reply

